« Skype does it for pennies, too | Main | FCC chairman's statement of Internet freedoms »
Spammers spoofing weblogging URLs
Six Apart has posted the following warning for uses of its TypePad weblogging software: "When logging in to TypePad, be sure to only log in through http://www.typepad.com/ or http://www.blogs.com/. There are a number of sites spoofing the TypePad homepage to facilitate masking their identities for comment spam. We are working to get these sites shut down." More and more, spammers and virus-writers are using social engineering, as some of the traditional technical holes in the Internet get sealed up.
Posted on February 19, 2004 at 11:59 AM in Spambusters | Permalink
TrackBack
TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/t/trackback/480877
Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Spammers spoofing weblogging URLs:
» Spoofs Target TypePad from Blog Hosting News
Web page spoofs are apparently trying to trick TypePad users. Login theft is a growing issue on the Net. [Read More]
Tracked on Feb 28, 2004 6:08:14 PM